Radeon video driver for Ubuntu causes fan to max

After I installed the new Ubuntu 10.04 beta, I read somewhere that the fglrx drivers were not yet supported, or that at least, they wouldn’t work. The forums recommended a change for the open-source radeon drivers. It worked properly, but my laptop would be super noisy, the fan always working. I eventually solved this by reverting back to the now supported fglrx driver. Just a heads up if someone else has the same problem. My laptop is an Asus F6V.

Leave a Reply

