Fix Chrome’s “Missing Plug-in” error message in Mac OSX

Somewhere during the Summer, I updated my Mac’s software and Google Chrome stopped displaying PDFs correctly. Searching for a fix turned out to be painfully hard but I finally nailed it today. For future reference:

  1. Go to Java Preferences
  2. Disable the most recent Java versions in use (for me, 1.6.0_26-b03-384)
  3. Ta-Dah!

On a side note, I have to “blame” Google for not showing me the right results straight away. I had to use “Advance Search” and trim the dates of the results for the last month to get a meaningful link, otherwise it was all pointing to Adobe PDF viewer and/or Chrome in Linux..

Leave a Reply

